The Great Writer.

Ramon Amaya Amador, was born in Olanchito in the department of Yoro ( After being educated in La Ceiba, he laboured on the banana plantations of the northern Caribbean coast of Honduras. He published his first work in the year 1939. Amaya became a journalist in 1941 for El Atlántico (The Atlantic), a La Ceiba newspaper. In October 1943 he founded a weekly magazine in Olanchito called Alerta (Alert).

Ramón Amaya Amador.

A leading Honduran communist, he moved to Guatemala in 1944 fleeing political persecution, where he worked on the Nuestro Diario (Our Daily) newspaper and was very supportive of the left-wing government of Jacobo Arbenz. During his 10 years in Guatemala he also worked for the Diario de Centro América (Central American Daily), El Popular Progresista (The Popular Progressive) and Medioía (Midday). It was at the beginning of this period that he wrote what is considered his finest novel, Prisión Verde (Green prison), which was banned in Honduras for many years, as it described life on the banana plantations in the Bajo Aguan valley of northern Honduras, and the consequences of a labor strike there.

When the Arbenz government fell in June 1954, Amador sought refuge in the Argentine embassy before being granted asylum in Argentina where he worked for Sarmiento, a popular educational newspaper. Whilst there, he married an Argentinian, Regina Arminda Funes, with whom he returned to Honduras in May 1957. He began working for El Cronista (The Chronicle), and founded the magazine Vistazo (View) in Tegucigalpa. Soon afterwards, he left Honduras with his family and his two small children – including his son Carlos Amaya Fúnez. They were to move to Prague, in the former Czechoslovakia where he would then work on a magazine called Problems of Peace and Socialism until he died at 50 years of age in a plane crash in 1966 in BratislavaCzechoslovakia. In September 1977 his remains were returned to the Honduran capital Tegucigalpa.

His son Carlos Amaya Fúnez, has worked over many years to promote his father’s work. The dates given indicate when the books were written yet not when they were first published. These books have all been published in Spanish though there are almost twenty others which remain unpublished.

  • Prisión Verde (1945)
  • Amanecer (1947)
  • El indio Sánchez (1948)
  • Bajo el signo de la Paz (1952)
  • Constructores (1958)
  • El señor de la sierra (1957)
  • Los brujos de Ilamatepeque (1958)
  • Biografía de un machete (1959)
  • Destacamento Rojo (1960)
  • El camino de mayo (1963)
  • Cipotes (1963)
  • Con la misma herradura (1963)
  • Jacinta Peralta (1964)
  • Operación gorila (1965)
  • Los rebeldes de la villa de San Miguel (1966) (Volume 1 of a 5 volume series called Morazaneida)

Published by Ben Anson

Young writer with a passion for Latin American and Caribbean affairs.

One thought on “The Great Writer.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: